hall

hall

Waiting for iTrackpadot

I spent the last couple of weeks trying to use my iPad almost exclusively, paired to an old Apple bluetooth keyboard. I was doing this really in anticipation of buying a Brydge keyboard, to see if I thought I could live with the setup. However, even after a brief spell, I concur with Steve Jobs when he said “after a short period of time you start to fatigue, and after an extended period of time, your arm wants to fall off." I was reminded of friends using touch screen laptops, who seem to adopt the screen grab and thumbing. Coincidentally, I’ve also been trying out GoCoEdit (I usually use Textastic) and am really impressed with the trackball implementation, but it doesn’t do away with the requirement to raise your arm to manipulate a cursor in a more vertical plane. If only it could be mapped to a trackpad. I’m guessing that’s why Apple designed the Smart Keyboard Folio the way it is - you can put up with typing on the side of a tent (apologies to whoever who first said that) - for short bursts. I actually found myself returning to the on screen keypad with it’s easy access to the spacebar press for cursor navigation and everything in the same more horizontal plane, despite the reduction in screen estate. So, for the time-being I won’t be shelling out for a new keyboard, I’ll be waiting for the software to catch-up with the hardware and perhaps a Brydge with trackpad will appear.